Illustrator Research

While creating my infograpic I have had to research certain parts of Illustrator in order to put my work together.

Mostly what caught me up was the use of the pathfinder tool. I found this tutorial here http://sites.duke.edu/oit-mps/2010/12/14/using-the-pathfinder-tool-in-adobe-illustrator/, was very helpful in explaining step by step the differences between the divide, trim, merge and crop modes.

As well as this, I needed help with the shading/colouring of some of my vector drawings in order to make them look 3D. I found this step-by-step tutorial http://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/tutorials/adobe-illustrator/add-depth-your-art-with-expert-shading-techniques/ and http://www.creativebloq.com/graphic-design/add-depth-and-texture-illustrator-5132626, very helpful with the idea of how using different colours can give depth to your vector drawings. I am working on adding depth to my images, especially the compost bins and fruit and vegetable used within my infographic. I feel that by adding depth, it gives a bit more sophistication to my drawings as well as an element of realism. The ideas are simple in that creating another shape with a slightly different shade within your drawing can give depth to it. I need to apply this to some of my work!

Illustrator Research

Leave a Reply

